New Music Review: DANZIG “Skeletons”

REVIEW – Danzig, oh Danzig, why hast thou forsaken thee, Danzig? His tenth studio record, entitled “Skeletons” was released on November 27, 2015 on the Evilive/Nuclear Blast label.  It consists solely of cover tunes from his youth, mostly between the 60s and the 70s. Even the album cover is an homage to David Bowie’s “Pin Ups”.

I do like when artists go back in time and revisit things that they intended on doing at the time, but had to put it on the back-burner in favor of other projects, which was the case here, and normally- I love when artists do cover songs, because it shows us who influenced them in their musical infancy, but in this case, it sounds too much like it was forced.  It’s like Danzig knew he needed to release something, and hadn’t since 2010’s “Deth Red Sabaoth”, but this reeks of near-desperation. This sounds less like a true Danzig release and more like a late-night basement recording after a night of partying.

Glenn’s instrumental skills do come into play big-time on this record, as he plays piano, guitar, bass and drums on half of the album’s ten tracks, and he produced all of it.  The other five tracks are handled by guitarist Tommy Victor, also doubling as bassist, and drummer Johnny Kelly.

In short- this album really didn’t need to be made, much less released for public consumption; perhaps as b-sides of a few singles, but not necessarily an entire album.  Some songs make sense, such as the obligatory Elvis tune, the main themes to the 1967 & 1969 outlaw biker flicks respectively called “Devil’s Angels”, and “Satan’s Sadists”, Sabbath’s “N.I.B.”, and others are just flat-out cool picks for covers, like “Lord of the Thighs” by Aerosmith, but is the world better off now that Glenn and his band du jour allowed us to hear their version of ZZ Top’s “Rough Boy”?

DANZIG “Skeletons”

01. Devil’s Angels (orig. by Dave Allen & The Arrows)
02. Satan (orig. by Paul Wibier)
03. Let Yourself Go (orig. by Elvis Presley)
04. N.I.B. (orig. by Black Sabbath)
05. Lord Of The Thighs (orig. by Aerosmith)
06. Action Woman (orig. by The Litter)
07. Rough Boy (orig. by ZZ Top)
08. With A Girl Like You (orig. by The Troggs)
09. Find Somebody (orig. by The Young Rascals)
10. Crying In The Rain (orig. by The Everly Brothers)

Running Time: 39:33